Our Mood and Emotions -Insight to Nadis(subtle energy) in the Body
Lifestyle Yoga

Our Mood and Emotions -Insight to Nadis(subtle energy) in the Body

Written by Anima Sur
Our mood is under the influence of chemical secretions which comes out of the endocrine glands .when you are “angry” it is not “you” who is angry .it is a manifestation of bodily impurity rather of mental impurity. This also indicates that Ida and Pingala Nadis are not in balance and Sushumna is yet to awaken. Thereby propelling the person in the whirlpool of emotion and moods.

The relation between Yoga and Nadi in the Body

According to Hatha yoga, a major advantage of doing asanas is that they have a direct effect on our Chakras. Muladhara, Manipuraka, Swadhisthana, Anahata, Vishuddha, Aagya, Sahasrara-thus helping in the awakening of the Chakras. While doing the asanas- when you are breathing in Rhythm it balances the Ida and Pingala Nadi. Which in turn helps in activating the Sushumna. It may seem that you are doing Asana. But actually, you are preparing for the awakening of the chakras and the Kundalini.
Nadi - Ida Pingla Sushmna

Major Nadis in the Body

Three Major Nadi in the Body

The three major Nadi (subtle energy channels) Ida, Pingala, and Sushumna. When the breath moves through the left nostril, it is not just the breadth alone- it is Ida which is active and when it moves to the right nostril it is the Pingala that is active. The interchange between the flow of Ida and Pingala happens every 80 to 90 minutes. If Ida flows more than Pingala then there will be an adverse effect on the brain and mind. So, to maintain a balance between their flows, Asanas & Pranayamas are quite essential. Person whose Ida Nadi is active- is mentally active dynamic, creative, reflective, and receptive. All scientists have an active and awakened Ida Nadi. but the activation of this Nadi is not as simple as closing the right nostril and breathing from the left.

The question what does the activation of Ida and Pingala really entail?

Nadia is not a nerve. it is a subtle energy channel. A flow that starts at the Muladhara Chakra and ends at the Ajna Chakra. .The third Nadi Sushumna also reaches the Ajna Chakra. and the chakras is also symbolically referred to as Prayaga( Confluence point of the three rivers –Ganges, Yamuna, and Saraswati ). In yogic science is Pingala is called the Ganga, Ida as the Yamuna, and Sushumna as Saraswati.

Internal & external Prayaga

3 Nadi   Hence Ajna Chakra is the symbolic internal Prayaga– reflecting the external Confluence of the three rivers at Prayag. and an important Hindu pilgrimage. In the outside World to Saraswati is not visible. Hindus trust that it is subtle and invisible. But certainly, the river flows. The confluence of the rivers Ganga, Yamuna, and Saraswati is popular as Prayag or the meeting point. It is one of the famous and important pilgrimages for Hindus. However, is the external prayaga. But for a yogi, the Ajna Chakra is the internal and true Prayaga. When Pingala awakens the person is active, Industrious, and perseverance. Such people work without any concern for the fruit of their actions. They do not strive for personal gain. if they earn money, it is with a view to benefiting society and the country. and they become efficient politicians, statesmen, army generals, and soldiers. Nature creates opportunities for progress and advancement for those whose Pingala is awaited. if neither the Pingala nor Ida are awakened a person will not progress in life. he will not be active or reflective of his life. they will be limited to indulgences in the sense organ. eating drinking and being hedonistic This also implies that if an aspirant makes a concerted effort he can awake and his Ida and Pingala and acquire the qualities he does not possess. if the Ida is awakened the brain function into the person becomes contemplative and reflective and can achieve the goals in life

How to activate?

8 fold limb of patanjali -Nadi   If you practice Yama, Niyama, Asanas, and Pranayama regularly for at least one year, Ida and Pingala will be going to function normally- having an overall beneficial effect on the body and the mind. If you faithfully clean your body with Neti, Varisara Dhauti(shankhaprakshalana), and Vamana dhoti(Kunjal Kriya) for a period of 6 months of a year. you will definitely experience progressive positive change in your life. Only if the Ida and Pingala are active -there arises a possibility of the awakening of the Sushumna Nadi. And it’s only after these three Nadis have woken fully, that a person can begin to work on activating the Chakras. Have a quest for truth and awaken the Kundalini .the first experience of Savikalpa Samadhi happens when the Kundalini Rises and pierces through the Muladhara, Manipuraka, Anahat Vishuddha, and Ajna Chakra to reach the Sahasrara.

About the author

Anima Sur

A health Blogger. "Take care of the whole, and the part will take care of itself". This is the essence of Yogic Wellness- keeping the whole being healthy.